Use Devo 7 with non-Walkera Quad

Discussion in 'Walkera Devention Radios' started by Kubiac, Feb 9, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Kubiac

Kubiac New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm a rookie at this stuff and have a Runner 250 Advanced. As a learning experience, I am going to be building a basic inexpensive quad with most of the parts from HobbyKing. I am using a KK2.1.5 Flight Control Board.

Since I already have a Devo 7, it would be convenient (and save me money) to use it as my transmitter. From what I can tell, the only receiver that will work with the Devo 7 is the RX710. Is this true, or is there another alternative?

Even if there isn't, it would still be cheaper to pay $30 for an RX710 instead of buying a new Transmitter/Receiver combo. The problem as I see it is that the RX710 has no easy way to access the pin-outs since it uses a ribbon cable as an interface connector, and I have not been able to find documentation defining which pins control what function. If I had the pin-out information, I could solder wires to the end of the ribbon cable, but I can see where that could get a bit messy.

Anyway, does anyone have any recommendations/information that would help?

Additionally, if I need to buy a new Transmitter/Receiver combo, any recommendations would be appreciated.
    I wouldn't want to go too high end (due to the expense), but I would like something that could be used with potential additional builds in the future.

2. bjr981s

bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

Top Poster Of Month

Ratings:
    +296 / 10
    OK I will move this thread into the Devo Radio Forum as its about the TX not the runner.

The Devo 7 will bind and work with any Devo receiver regardless of the channel count.

So any Devo RX will work for you. The standard RX for the Devo 7 is the RX701. you could also use the Rx802 8 channel, Rx1002 10 channel, and Rx1202 12 channel.

The runner RX is built specific for the runner and is useless for anything else.