Unable to bind Walkera runner 250(r) to new Devo 7

Discussion in 'Walkera Help!' started by Anarchy, Oct 30, 2017.

  1. Anarchy
    Offline

    Anarchy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    HI, I brought a runner 250(r) by itself and a seperate devo 7 controller.

    I have been unable to either bind or use the drone.

    I power the controller and then the drone within 4 secconds.

    The lights will flash, The transmitter will go solid red and the flight controller will flash blue with a solid red light ( also FPV goggle work fine ). Everything looks connected but the back left light will stay somehwat solid ( rapid flickering ) and the right light will blink on and off.

    I have upgraded to the latest firmware but was unable to read any telemetry from the drone.

    Is there something im doing wrong.

     
  2. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,136
    Likes Received:
    442
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +567 / 16
    Was the problem before or after the FW update?

    Did you complete the Update correctly including the manual Throttle expo?

    Make sure that the Devo and the drone have fixed ID turned off. Its a setting in the TX to change and you will need to hold button on RX and apply power to clear.

    Cheers
     
  3. Anarchy
    Offline

    Anarchy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks bjr981s, Looks like there was a configuration issue with the controller. followed some step and can now correctly bind the Walkera which presents a while new issue. When giving the Walkera thrust it either A. thrust to hard on one side and flip or B. give me random amounts of thrust will give me 10% then shoot up to 40 even when the stick is at 10%. I tried recalibrating the gyro's, GPS and nothing. Tried connecting to the Walkera assistant to read telemetary - nothing. Connecting to wultiwiiwin does show transmitter data but no gps,gyro data. Is my flight controller busted?
     
  4. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,136
    Likes Received:
    442
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +567 / 16
    I suspect you screwed up the FW update.

    How did you do the update?
     
  5. Anarchy
    Offline

    Anarchy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    HI, Thanks for the Reply. Im not to sure. I ran through the update again as per the guide ( even loading the Multiwiiwin settings ). Now i was finally able to get telemetry data on the quad and i think i found the problem. https://youtu.be/Z4t_Q-VpWVs

    Also when increasing throttle i got this screenshot showing one motor very much getting more than the other ( attached )

    Thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,136
    Likes Received:
    442
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +567 / 16
    Firstly do not use that version of Multiwii it is not compatible with the runner. Do not use to do FW update or make any changes.

    Now. A lesson on multirotors.

    The FC on a multirotor controls the signal to the motors to enable a stable hover.

    They are never the same. The low arm will always have a higher throttle setting, the high arm a lower setting.

    You cannot determine motor speeds when tethered to a PC.

    If you hold the drone and increase the throttle it will always force a significant mismatch on the throttle to each motor because it cant stabilise because you are holding it.

    Cheers Brian
     
  7. Anarchy
    Offline

    Anarchy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey,

    I think the main issue is the Telemetry being spazzing out as if i place the drone on a flat surface (without holding it) it flips in random directions. This im assuming is becasue the telemetry is moving with the drone standing still and its trying to correct itself from idle.

    Everything in terms of firmware and connecting ( including the multiwii version) the drone has been from the Walkera support page for the runner 250(r) (as attached)

    Can you please point me in the correct direction on how to Reset the firmware? as there is little to no guides on this other then the official Walkera one which i have followed
     

    Attached Files:

  8. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,136
    Likes Received:
    442
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +567 / 16
    Did you use FlyConfig to update the FW?

    And then did you use MultiWiiWinGUI to restore the default settings?

    It is all clearly set out step by step in the PDF in the Download.
     
  9. Anarchy
    Offline

    Anarchy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes, I followed the guide to the letter.

    1. installed and ran flyconfig > Set the comport and the baud rate > (didnt connect) > Went to firmware > Selected and ran update > This seems to be successful as this now says v 1.2

    2. Opened MultiWiiGui ( which was supplied in the package ) Connected to comport and baud rate - confirmed connection > Loaded settings from supplied file > Wrote files to drone > Disconnected and reconnected - drone settings seem to stick.

    I think the issue is with the on board telemetry how can i test this?
     
  10. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,136
    Likes Received:
    442
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +567 / 16
    The issue is not the onboard Telemetry.

    Did you recalibrate the drone after the update?

    Updating FW clears the Calibration Data.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

walkera 250r drone firmware update screenshots