UK Newbie ...

Discussion in 'Introductions and Site Help' started by mph999, Jun 6, 2016.

1. mph999

mph999 New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Guys,

My name is Martin, I'm a newbie from the uk with delivery of a 250 Advanced due sometime in the next few days.

I have some flying experience, gliders mainly, though this was a good few years ago. I also have flown drones and have quite a few incident free hours on a DJI Phantom 3.

I am more than aware that the DJI wraps you in cotton wool, so I taking the completely new approach and will start from the very basics. I haven't purchased the googles yet, I will I expect but want to avoid the temptation of running before I can walk.

So, prior to purchase I have done research, research and research, and that landed me with a whole bunch of questions most of which I have found answers for, some I haven't but I expect I will with a little effort.

I do however, if I may, have one query regarding setup.

Apart from following the manual, setup of the Devo 7, I need to also :

1. Set the failsafe (kill throttle in case of loss of signal)
    2. Apply the trim fix for FOD, and configure throttle hold to -20% to kill the props when on the ground

I believe I have sufficient instructions for this so no worries there.

My question therefore, is there anything else I need to do, for example throttle curves / throttle - elevator mix ?
    If so, are there any guides for this as I've drawn a bit of a blank.

Kindest regards, and thank you in advance.

Martin

2. bjr981s

bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

Top Poster Of Month

Ratings:
    +296 / 10
    A throttle exponential is good to flatten out the centre. It helps hovering. You should program this in conjunction with end points and a switch mix for the FOD fix.

At some stage when I have the time I will define a setup for the Devo 7 for the runner.

Cheers

3. mph999

mph999 New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Many thanks for taking the time to reply ...