Should I flash the firmware to the one listed on Walkera website?

Discussion in 'Walkera Runner 250' started by ayeosq, Nov 30, 2017.

  1. ayeosq
    Offline

    ayeosq New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Been playing around with the:
    Walkera Runner 250 advance - Add mission plans via a firmware upgrade

    The thing I like about that firmware is the part it is switch activated FMD, or flight mode.

    So far it works with a couple of hiccups but the support for that has not been very helpful.

    Which firmware should I use and where to download?

     
  2. bjr981s
    Online

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    318
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +415 / 13
    That is in all versions?????

    Go to the Walkera web site and get the latest FW and tools.
     
  3. ayeosq
    Offline

    ayeosq New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    What I meant was the FMD switch arm the motors...
     
  4. ayeosq
    Offline

    ayeosq New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
  5. bjr981s
    Online

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    318
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +415 / 13
    Highly not recommended it is a dangerous thing to do and we advise against it.
     
  6. ayeosq
    Offline

    ayeosq New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    what's the reason behind this?
     
  7. bjr981s
    Online

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    318
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +415 / 13
    Safety.

    There is a reason That Walkera, DJI and all responsible drone manufacturers do not have a switch for Motor arm.

    RC modellers used to have to belong to clubs and get flight and safety instruction. This does not happen anymore as flying drones is a solo excessive.

    I cant
    remember how many times I have seen people hurt and even lose fingers due to uncontrolled prop starts.

    The CSC action is to ensure that you cannot arm motors by accident and must have zero throttle.

    Here is the scenario that happens way to often.

    You Start your radio and walk over to your model and insert the battery.

    Your radio falls on its face due to wind / person bumping it walking by and you get a motor arm and full throttle while you are bending over your model.

    If your lucky a good doctor may be able to repair your vision. If not it will be your last flight.

    Cheers

    p.s. A motor Throttle Cut / Disarm is highly recommend. But not the reverse.
     
  8. ayeosq
    Offline

    ayeosq New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yea, makes sense.
    Have since flash back the OEM firmware, the GPS routing is cool, but its so inconvenient to plan route then upload it.
    Although I have seen the fact that there is a usb to usb 433mhz adapter which can wirelessly connect them both, it's way too much trouble.
    To be honest, DJI did a really good job with their GPS flying.
    Hey, thanks for your advice Steve.

    Hope you are not that croc phantom from sunshine state.
     
  9. bjr981s
    Online

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    318
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +415 / 13
    No problem, happy to help.

    Yes DJI have some great models. I have Phantoms 3, 4 Pro, 2 Mavic Pros, and 5 Sparks. (Could not decide which colour so I bought them all.):eek:

    And 2 DJI Goggles. I can take my wife and children for flights around the neighbourhood (Dual Goggle setup) with a 7klm range. I have one of their new goggles that come with the Occusync air module so you can use the goggles with other models. Going in my Navy Cub scale FPV with pan tilt camera. Will be very cool.

    If you need any other help just ask.

    Cheers Brian
     
  10. ayeosq
    Offline

    ayeosq New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Am think about getting the DJI, but due to cost, I can only get one.
    The phantom 4 pro and mavic pro are the ones I would like to buy.
    However, phantom 4 pro has a better camera than the mavic but the portability of the 4 is not ideal.
    Are you able to give some advice between 4 pro and mavic?
     

Share This Page