runner 250r with Devo F12e

Discussion in 'Walkera Runner 250' started by pjohn221, Sep 25, 2017.

  1. pjohn221
    Offline

    pjohn221 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hi all,

    I'm new here and as well with drone flying. i recently bought a second hand runner and it came with devo F12e controller. I've flown it few times and I'm really enjoying it so far. i haven't touched the switches on the controller cause i don't have a clear knowledge on how they work. I've been searching for some tutorial with this kind of set up but can't find any. hopefully i can get some tips and advise from here.

    couple of questions to begin,
    how do i check if i have the correct configuration/settings on my runner and devo f12e?
    what software or programs do i need to get/install for both?

    i appreciate any help

    Peter
     
  2. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +351 / 13
    The Mix Switch on the F12E is the Man,GPS, RTH switch it outputs on channel 5.
    The FMOD Switch is the flight mode switch and it operates on Channel 6
    The Gear Switch is the Toggle Video on/ off if you have the HD camera and it is on Channels 7

    These must be programmed in the F12E.

    To check go to the Function Menu -> Monitor and watch Channel 5-7 as you flip the switches.

    Don't add any software yet. As a newbie you have a 90% chance of busting it if you connect it to your PC.
     
  3. pjohn221
    Offline

    pjohn221 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thanks for the quick response!! ok so this is what i found

    AUX2 - Man, GPS, RTH
    AUX3 - Orbit (what is that for?)
    AUX4 - retractable skid landing switch
    AUX5 - gimbal roll
    AUX6 - gimbal tilt
    AUX7 - start/stop video rec

    so the IOC and One Key to start aren't assigned (i haven't figured what these for). so what now?

    as of now i don't have camera on it, ill install one in the future.

    i appreciate your help !
     
  4. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +351 / 13
    Ok none of the switches have been configured for the R. So it can't fly in GPS mode, RTH or aerobatic.

    It will require a complete programme from the User Quick Start guide.

    You will need to interpret the Guide as it relates to a devo 7 radio and program it. Or I can create and send you an F12E Model config for the 250 (R)

    It might take a day or 2.

    Your call.

    Cheers Brian
     
  5. pjohn221
    Offline

    pjohn221 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes if you could please create one for me I'd really appreciate that. Is it hard to install? And do I have to do anything to the runner after I configure the F12e?

    Have a great day, thanks!
    Peter
     
  6. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +351 / 13

    Attached Files:

  7. pjohn221
    Offline

    pjohn221 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Im missing the USB cable:(

    nevermind i have one from my GoPro. ill update when i get my transmitter updated.


    Thanks,
    Peter
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
  8. pjohn221
    Offline

    pjohn221 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    still working on this Brian.
    i have installed the Dfuse USB tool program but I'm having issue connecting F12e to PC. when i plug in the USB the PC should recognize theres a new devise but its not doing that. also, I've tried turning Devo on + holding EXT, stays on 'Program Update" screen.

    ill try with a different cable, hopefully it will work.

    thanks!
     
  9. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +351 / 13
    What version of Windows? And you need the STM32 Windows device drivers.

    Does your PC ding and try and install the correct device drivers?
     
  10. pjohn221
    Offline

    pjohn221 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hi Bryant,
    i finally got to update my controller, sorry been busy with work. so this what i got with the .bin file you gave me.

    AUX2 - retractable skid landing
    AUX3 - aileron
    AUX4 - throttle
    AUX5 - rudder
    AUX6 - MAN, GPS. RTH
    AUX7 - orbit

    are these correct? again i appreciate your help!! cheers!

    peter
     

Share This Page