Range / Transmitter Issues

Discussion in 'Walkera Help!' started by AngryCarrot, May 3, 2020.

  1. AngryCarrot
    Offline

    AngryCarrot New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    About a year ago now I was gifted the Walkera Rodeo 110 with the Devo 7 remote. I love it and use to fly it all the time till I ran into issues where it could only get 20 - 30 feet away and then loose connection. I pulled it back out wanting to fly a drone again because its getting nice out and to my surprise no connection issues at all. After running though a battery I pulled it back and put in another one and sure enough it looses connection. I thought maybe the battery had to do something with this but I tried the original one and the same thing happened. I have no clue what to do and would love some help. Also now I am having issues with it connecting to the transmitter even standing right by it (this is only sometimes).

     
  2. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +559 / 16
    You will find that it is directionally sensitive. So range will depend on what angle the drone is facing.

    Batteries will have a big effect as the Video TX does consume a lot.

    If you have been flying your batteries down flat every flight you will only get about 75-100 flights out of them. If you also don't store them at Storage voltage they will self destruct.

    I suspect that your original battery only had enough life for one last flight.

    Cheers
     
  3. AngryCarrot
    Offline

    AngryCarrot New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This was happening shortly after I got my drone as well and I dont run them till dead as soon as battery alarm goes off I bring it in as per the instructions that came with the drone. Also there is no low battery alarm when I loose connection and the video feed still comes in perfectly fine.
     
  4. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +559 / 16
    Do you know someone else with a Devo 7 TX?

    The Devo 7s have been know too fail.
     
  5. AngryCarrot
    Offline

    AngryCarrot New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No I do not. Is there any other way to test this?
     
  6. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +559 / 16
    The only thing I can suggest is to test antenna. Check the two antenna from the RX and make sure that they are not nicked or cracked. And check the same inside the radio TX.
     
  7. AngryCarrot
    Offline

    AngryCarrot New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes i notice a small nick on one of the drone antennas. Is there somewhere i can get a replacement to solder it back on? Would removing it do anything to the drone where I would be able to notice if it was working better with 1 good antenna?
     
  8. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +559 / 16
    You cannot reconnect / solder Antenna wires. That would cause an impedance mismatch and create reflections in the antenna.

    It needs to be one continuous wire from the RX to the antenna tip. You will notice the the tip has some shielding removed. That is the actual Antenna itself. There is a thread here on antenna replacement.

    It still might not explain the total issue with your drone.

    Have you ever crashed this drone or had a hard landing?

    Cheers
     
  9. AngryCarrot
    Offline

    AngryCarrot New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes I have crashed the drone quite a few times. I have opened up both the drone and remote and have not found any loose wires at all.
     
  10. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +559 / 16
    Did you check the RX FC ribbon cables? They crack or split.
     

Share This Page