New guy, want to buy one.

Discussion in 'Walkera Runner 250' started by gruntwerkz, Oct 25, 2015.

  1. gruntwerkz
    Offline

    gruntwerkz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Hey guys, I am planning on purchasing a runner 250 next week (Friday) and I've never had experience with a real quad, only small beginner drones that don't even use a true 6+ ch radio like these do. I am not worried about being able to understand the directions to lean to fly it as I believe I can learn just fine, I have more technical questions. I would like to run it with the devo f12e, I would rather not use goggles based on preference, I can order it that was as a package on the wakera site but seems hard to place an order. What I can do is buy the RTF3 kit and the devo f12e separately from a US warehouse and it's around the same price still (my father can use the spare devo 7).

    My question is, what things do I need to do exactly to bind a brand new f12e to the runner 250 kit that's already set for the devo 7 setup? Would I just turn them on at the same time like it states to do with the devo 7 and that will bind it? Is there any specific firmware I need on the f12e to run it on the 250 runner? What battery packs are you using in your f12?

     
  2. gruntwerkz
    Offline

    gruntwerkz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Just to update: I did find the PDF file on walkera website finally, also subscribed to the facebook group mentioned so hopefully they approve it sometime soon and I can ask there. I did discover in the PDF for advanced runner with f12e, so I assume it will be the same for the standard runner minus the GPS hold and such. It said the PDF if for the white version, is that the standard silver one they have out? What it didn't say in the PDF if is there anything I need to do to bind the runner with the F12E or do I just turn them on at the same time? The PDF did map out what controls I will need to be using on it, how to set wing type and other model/video settings. Also should I be using the pro version of the firmware or the condensed RTF version? Any suggestions on packs for the F12?
     
  3. dankas
    Offline

    dankas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Grunt,

    Try search the Walkera product that use Devo F12E, I understand there should be Walkera QR-X350 Pro, some variant with Devo F12E, then you can find out which one is the RX for Devo F12e

    After a little search I can see this product will low price can talk with Devo F12e, good luck on trying

    <a href="Cole DEVO 12 channel receiver WALKERA China RX1202 DEVO 12 s receiver-in Parts & Accessories from Toys & Hobbies on Aliexpress.com | Alibaba Group" target="_parent"><img src="http://g02.a.alicdn.com/kf/HTB17hly...202-b-font-DEVO-12-s-receiver.jpg_220x220.jpg"/><span style="display:block;">AliExpress.com Product - Cole DEVO 12 channel receiver WALKERA China - RX1202 DEVO 12 s receiver</span></a>
     
  4. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +436 / 14
    OK You cannot configure a "white" Devo F12e to fly the Runner Advance, without doing some additional work.

    The White Devo F12e radio is the sports edition and has different firmware settings that do not allow you to set some of the settings required for flying the Runner advance.

    You have 2 options here.

    1) Change the firmware on the White Devo F12E to the full function software. iUAS has a video on how to do this.
    2) Update the model bin file on the radio from a friends settings( Walkera do not have the Bin file for the runner published yet.) I can send you my bin file. iUAS have a video on this as well.

    Binding is not the issue. Its having the correct with control setting in place so you can control the runner.

    The F12E settings PDF for the runner does not work it ignores a number of settings that can't be made due to the restrictions in the firmware on the white F12E.

    I have both Silver and White F12Es I like the White model much better than the silver.

    If you buy the Runner and the White F12E PM me and I will send the F12E Runner Advance bin file to you.

    The only issue you will have is that the Switch on the radio will say from (top to bottom) Manual, GPS, RTH. But the Runner will be GPS, Manual, RTH.

    I have corrected this in mine by reprogramming the Runner with Multiwii.

    I have also programmed the Runner for IOC mode operating off the IOC switch on the F12E. (IOC= headless)

    So specifically to your question / statement. The runner is not programmed to the radio. The radio is programmed to the runner.

    Any Walkera Devo radio will bind to the runner.

    For everyone else information the Walkera DEVO radio set does not need to be matched to the RX in the model. A 6 channel TX can use a 12 channel RX. A 12 channel TX can use a 6 Chanel RX.

    An F12E is a 12 channel TX the Runner has a 7 Channel RX they work just fine together as long as you program the settings on the radio correctly. Only 6 of the channels in the Runner operate by default. I have reprogrammed my runner to use the 7th channel for IOC activation.
     
  5. gruntwerkz
    Offline

    gruntwerkz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Thank you so much for the informative response. I am ordering the quad Friday morning, I did discover that the package I wanted could be purchased on the walkera official store now for $579, so I was very happy to see that. It includes the Devo F12E and it looks to be the silver and black model, that was the model I was going to purchase anyway. I am getting the runner regular, not advanced. I have already downloaded the unlocked version of the firmware and the USB defuser tool.

    Is the bin file you speak of compatible with the runner regular or do you have that bin file? I have a good understanding on how to update the transmitter with the USB, I watched the video you speak of. Now my questions would be, what directions do I follow for the silver/black radio? The PDF file for the white states if you have the black F12E then to follow the setup directions for the F7 that's included in the Runner 250 quick start PDF.

    Do you think since I'm ordering it as an FPV package from the official walkera website that they will have put the proper bin file onto it? Are you saying above that if it's unlocked to the unlocked firmware then you wouldn't need the bin file? I'm hoping since it's coming from Walkera that the radio would have proper files, but just incase can you explain to me if I need to upgrade firmware AND unlock it, or just one or the other. Also since it's the silver/black radio will I be following the directions from the quick start PDF be correct? Thank you.
     
  6. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +436 / 14
    I ordered the Walkera Runner Advance with the F12E from the Walkera main site.

    The F12E was configured as a Tali H500 with the name changed to Runner. So it didn't work correctly.

    The Flaps had the incorrect endpoints (Mix Switch / Flight mode) and also the Orbit switch on the f12e used for Orbit on Tali but is Flight Mode on the runner also had the wrong end points set.

    I had to downgrade the firmware on the f12e and then build a proper Runner Advance bin.

    The Runner and the Advance use the same settings just the Advanced recognises the mix switch as GPS / Manual / RTH flight modes.

    I have both Standard and GPS runners.

    I am installing GPSs in both my standard runners and programming them for GPS flight with Multiwii

    If you are going to downgrade the firmware in your f12e to full function then you can follow the F7 instructions to create a good bin file. Make sure that you reset the model config that Walkera have programmed as it will be incorrect, and won't make a good baseline.

    I will also send you a copy of my .bin to your email address.
     
  7. gruntwerkz
    Offline

    gruntwerkz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Thanks so much, its strange they ship it messes up like that. So all I need to do is upgrade the firmware, put your bin file on it and follow the f7 instructions to get a good program? I will be waiting for that email. Thank you much again. Oh what does the mix switch do on the runner without GPS? Nothing?
     
  8. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +436 / 14
    If you use my bin you do not need to downgrade the firmware on the F12E.

    The mix switch will not do anything on the standard runner. but.....

    If you follow this video and buy:

    Runner 250(R)-Z-06 GPS Fixing Assembly. $3.58

    Walkera Runner 250 Advance Spare Part GPS Fixing Accessory Runner 250(R)-Z-06

    Runner 250(R)-Z-14 GPS Module. $41.28

    Walkera Runner 250 Advance Spare Part GPS Module Runner 250(R)-Z-14


    RC Groups - View Single Post - Walkera Runner 250 FAST & FURIOUS

    You will have the Runner Advanced GPS Functionality but not the flashing lights.
     
  9. gruntwerkz
    Offline

    gruntwerkz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Outstanding information thank you so much, seems like this is a good route to go so thank you for the tutorials. Have you sent the bin file yet? I don't believe I have gotten it.

    Again thank you man, I would be lost when my package comes if it wasn't for your heads up and help. Do you need my email again?

    EDIT: I found the video that explains how to properly upload a new bin/model reset so please forgive that question. All I need now is the bin good sir, will your version work on the black F12E?
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015
  10. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +436 / 14
    Sorry was a bit slow in sending. My Voyager 3 turned up today so I was setting it up and needed to update the bin on my F12e as it was a BNF version So was copying yours at the same time.

    Its in the mail.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can the gps be disabled on runner 250 advance
,
how to stop propellers from idling on walkera f150 rodeo
,

i want the bye a walkera runner advance but which one

,
list of all walkera products can use with devo f12e
,
orbit devo f12 e
,
runner 250 advance devo f12 e forum
,
walkera 250 vibration problem
,
walkera runner advance failsafe