Goggle 3 range problem

Discussion in 'Walkera Help!' started by daveninja, Apr 9, 2016.

  1. daveninja
    Offline

    daveninja New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i have the furious 320 and goggle3 but the goggles lose signal after about 100 meters, Iv tried both antennas but both lose signal, can anyone help please
     
  2. Apolodor
    Offline

    Apolodor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Are you from Europe? Maybe your video transmitter is not powerful enough... If your transmitter has a CE sign on it, you will have a poor video range. Regulations...
     
  3. thomas
    Offline

    thomas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Hi,

    Have you found a solution for your problem ?

    I'm facing same situation here: Walkera Runner 250R (With FCC Tx) and Goggle3.
    I can barely get more than 150m range (direct view).
     
  4. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0
    Make sure the video frequency is totally the same first. Don't just rely on the auto-search.
     
  5. thomas
    Offline

    thomas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I did and triple checked:
    Channel 6 on the switches of the TX which means 5771MHz and same on the goggle3.

    At this frequency i just get video feed on the goggles on channel 6 and 11 but better on ch6 which is exactly 5771MHz.

    I tried TX and goggles at other frequencies too and get suite the same results.
     
  6. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0
    Do you have (or borrow) another FPV monitor or goggle that you can use for testing? If the other FPV monitor/goggle getting better signal, then maybe we can isolate the problem to Goggle3. If not, you will need to check on the VTx.

    I also had bad video on my F210 3D (stock LHCP antenna) and my 7" Diversity monitor (both on rubber ducky antennas). Replaced both antennas on quad and monitor to cloverleaf antennas and problem solved.

    Btw, my VTx is FCC 200mW.
     
  7. thomas
    Offline

    thomas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Ok thanks.

    Unfortunately I can't get other goggles for testing but I ordered cloverleaf antennas so wait and see.

    just curiosity: how much distance had you with your stock antennas? And how much have you now?

    Cheers.
     
  8. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0
    Stock
    - 50 meters and less, good signal
    - 50-100 mtr, gradually getting bad signal and didn't go further as the video was nearly unusable on my 7" inch screen

    Now
    - up to 250 meters, good signal
    - I didn't go further as not really interested in doing so at the moment but I'm confident that I can go much further as the video quality is still quite good
    - my helical antenna just arrived but I worry I lose control of the quad before losing video
     
  9. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0
    Which cloverleaf that you go for? For both quad and goggle? Just make sure the polarisation is matching.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2016
  10. thomas
    Offline

    thomas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Yeah, thanks for your concern.

    After some research I guess walkera stock antennas are LHCP but you don't find many on the market. I ordered 2 RHCP sma clovercleaf, we'll see.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page