flashing red lights!

Discussion in 'Walkera Runner 250' started by Dean L, May 26, 2020.

  1. Dean L
    Offline

    Dean L New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ive recently tried flying my walkera 250, after a few flights and a bad crash I had to replace the power board. I replaced the board, everything was working fine. flew for about 15 minutes, now when I power on the drone the red lights flash rapidly.

    I suspected somthing was wrong with the RX710, so I purchased a new one with a new ribbon and same issue. Ive tried pushing the 'clean' button on the RX710 and I get the same issue.

    HELP!!!

     
  2. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,978
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +566 / 16
    Is the radio on Fixed ID?

    Check the setting if it is on turn it off.

    Also recheck all cables particularly the ribbon cable for the Flight Controller. it may need reseating after your swapped out the mainboard.
     
  3. Dean L
    Offline

    Dean L New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The radio has fixed id off, and Ive ran through all the other settings. Ive checked the ribbons and reconnected multiple times.

    I had an older powerboard that I hooked up the lights, flight controller, and Rx reciever to, it seemed to bind to that without issue. I just replaced the board because this old board was only spinning 3 motors. The new board worked fine for about 30 minutes of flight time. Very frustrated. Im contemplating buying another powerboard, but kinda tired of dumping money into this.
     
  4. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,978
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +566 / 16
    Did you try going back to the old power board again?

    You should do this to confirm that the RX etc has not developed a problem after that 15 minute flight. It's also possible that the power board was damaged when you changed it over.
     
  5. Dean L
    Offline

    Dean L New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I hooked up the controller to the older board, it seemed to bind without issue. At least the lights indicated this. I did not hook up the motors to it, but I can check that to confirm.
     
  6. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,978
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +566 / 16
    I guess your new power-board is the issue.

    Good luck with your progress on this.
     
  7. Dean L
    Offline

    Dean L New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I got a replacement board today, this board will not bind! Ive tried different Rx and flight controllers on it and it still wont bind, just fast flashing red lights. Ive tried reseting the rx as well. Ive confirmed fix ID is off.

    When I hook back up to my old board it binds fine. Im at a loss.
     
  8. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,978
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +566 / 16
    What model is your runner and what model main board did you buy?

    Can you send me model numbers?
     
  9. Dean L
    Offline

    Dean L New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The sticker on the side of my box says drone is Runner 250 201508140019 RU1262

    The board is 250(R)-Z-13

    The first board I purchased binded and flew for a while. After I recharged and I couldnt get that board to bind. I thought maybe I damaged it in a crash so I ordered the exact same board. the 2nd replacement would not bind, nor will the 3rd replacement.
     
  10. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,978
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +566 / 16
    OK Does the drone have a GPS mounted on it?

    It looks like a standard 250 and you have ordered a 250 (R) GPS mainboard. The (R) has an additional channel from the RX.
     

Share This Page