BetaFlight Installed for updated PID WON'T ARM

Discussion in 'Walkera F210' started by Lukezen27, Oct 21, 2016.

  1. Lukezen27
    Offline

    Lukezen27 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    Hey Guys

    After reading some favourable reviews on the new BetaFlight PID update I flashed one of my Walkera F210 2D for some testing and fun..

    Installed BetaFlight
    Board SPRACINGF3
    Firmware 2.9 (stable)

    So anythings works apart from arming or disarming via

    Tried trimming up and down on the throttle stick
    Tired programming different switches for throttle arm (which I can do on standard cleanflight config)

    Flashed back it get some flights in on the weekend but I'm keen to try again if anyone knows what's up with the arm issue?

    Thanks Guys

    Luke
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2016
  2. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,062
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +326 / 10
    Walkera FC is not a Generic SPRACINGF3 FC it is a proprietary FC that is not compatible with generic FW.

    No Walkera FCS are Compatible with Generic FW.
     
  3. Lukezen27
    Offline

    Lukezen27 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
  4. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,062
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +326 / 10
    You can progress down this path but some things may or may not work. It is common that after a generic FW change the motors will not arm.

    Its unclear from his posts how he achieved the ARMing.

    Not too sure what you are trying to achieve here.

    He says himself that:

    "The counters (PIDS) are not comparable, because the scale is different in Betaflight 2.9. With SuperExpo these are quite different values.

    Rates are anyway taste. Anyone should find out for his flying style himself."

    So don't try and copy these PIDs into Clean Flight.

    You could try and experiment yourself with cleanflight PID changes.
     
  5. Lukezen27
    Offline

    Lukezen27 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    Yeah I have been playing round with the PIDs to lean what they do but they always end up back close to stock lol

    Everything appeared to be working binding with BetaFlight

    Just installed Deviation V5.0.0 on my Devo 10 and holy crap that's a lot of extra config setting and values now available

    So much so I just flashed back to go for a quick flight because of how long it was taking to get everything setup

    and I can now see what the bind problem might been... with Deviation installed
    throttle range shows set at -16% to 100% but that didn't show with stock firmware installed

    I'll be trying both again when I've got more time
     
  6. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0
    I'm considering this too.. running latest Betaflight on my F210 3D, really want to use the Airmode.

    Could you pls let us know if you already succeeded in doing so?

    I know that normal F210 can run it successfully but not for 3D yet.
     
  7. Lukezen27
    Offline

    Lukezen27 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    I finally got it to work and arm in the end but I didn't like how it handled plus some of the things were backward lol

    Betaflight min-max throttle check prior to allowing arming was the problem and I needed to have neg throttle (-2%) to enable and use switch arming not stick arm

    I'm currently using airmode on clearflight and flew for the first time with it enables yesterday......

    not learnt how to fully maximise this function yet but It did help a little

    Flash to version cleanflight_SPRACINGF3 V1.12.0 using cleanflight v1.1.0 Google plug-in to both flash and config......

    backup and restore seems to work fine so you can keep all your current setting

    Note: The newer versions kept stuffing up and the backup and restore buttons were missing amongst other things so these versions are the only ones I could get to work that have Airmode available

    Luke
     
  8. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0
    Why didn't you use the latest SPRacingF3 firmware by flashing it using latest Betaflight Configurator? This is how it was done by those guys flying on normal F210.

    After it is done, you can configure it again using latest Cleanflight Configurator using PIDs from nVentor.

    Maybe you can try this out? I don't have the time to test this out yet.

    BTW, for the throttle issue (from another forum):
    "To get your Devo 7 ready for SPRacingF3 FW go into the "Function" menu, then find and press ENT on your "TRVAD" Adjust your "THRO" from U100.00 to U125.00 & L100.00 to L125.00. Then EXT back out to the "Function" menu and hit ENT on “REVSW”. From there change your "ELEV" from NORM to REVRS state. Then EXT all the way out and turn off your Devo to Save."

    You are testing it on F210 3D version right?
     
  9. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0
    We will also lose our OSD by using non-Walkera firmware but that is okay with me.
     
  10. Lukezen27
    Offline

    Lukezen27 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    Yeah I did all that and used the new nVentor PID and they didn't like my rig at all.. plus the ANGLE & HORIZON didn't react the same as Cleanflight

    cleanflight_SPRACINGF3 V1.12.0 has airmode and LOOPTIME time editable to 500\2000 and that's what I was chasing

    No you don't
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

betaflight 3d in 2d mode

,

betaflight arm

,

betaflight f3 wont arm

,

betaflight min check

,

betaflight stick arm

,

devo 7e cant access mw osd menu

,

walkera f210 arming betaflight

,

walkerfa f210 wont arm after bind