Battery Issue - Won't hold a charge now!

Discussion in 'Walkera TALI H500' started by Buzztronic, Mar 1, 2017.

  1. Buzztronic
    Offline

    Buzztronic Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Hi gang! I've got a problem. My two LIPO batteries are having problems. They won't hold a charge!

    I left the batteries charged after last using them and stored them for a year and two months.

    Well I charged them last month and all seemed well, until they gave up on takeoff. No damage. Then though when I tried discharging them and recharging them still the same action for both batteries.

    Does anyone know if they are salvageable? I really don't want to shell out $150 on a single battery replacement.

     
  2. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0
    If you stored it fully charged for a year, it might not be good already. You should store it at 3.85v per cell for storage.
     
  3. Buzztronic
    Offline

    Buzztronic Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Hmmm, any ideas on how to rescue a battery from this?
     
  4. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0
    My opinion, those LiPos are not usable anymore. It might not be safe too.
     
  5. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,034
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +405 / 13
    Your lipos are dead if you stored them at full charge for that length of time. The chemistry has broken down.

    If you are going to not use a battery for over a month or 2 you must store them at 3.8V per cell. The storage charge.

    Even at storage charge you need to check them every 6 months and recharge any that have dropped a cell below the 3.8V.


    Cheers
     
  6. Buzztronic
    Offline

    Buzztronic Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Ok, any ideas how long batteries last when looked after in the storage charge way? Are people still using the same batteries they bought a couple of years ago?

    Second question, where to get affordable batteries from?
     
  7. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0
    It can lasts for several years if you put it in storage voltage.

    HobbyKing... I would recommend Turnigy Graphene and Multistars Gold Spec.
     
  8. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,034
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +405 / 13
    Does not work.

    Tali H500 uses a Smart battery pack. The dimensions of the cells in the pack are different from any known made up pack.

    They have a very thin cell and are square about 44mm x 44mm in a 6S format.

    You are stuck with buying OEM smart packs.

    I left a pack switch on. (They have an on switch and charge indicator LEDS.) and put it in storage by mistake. It killed 5 of the 6 cells.

    I have tried to buy packs and or single cells to make a pack but none fit. I believe that the cells are about 8C discharge and thats why they are smaller than normal.

    $_35.JPG
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. iskandar
    Offline

    iskandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0
    Ohh, it is using smart pack. True, cannot use those LiPos from HK or etc.
     
  10. DivenParker
    Offline

    DivenParker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Your Lipo batteries didn't use about one years, so you may can't use it again, because it is damage, no ways can save it, you 'd better buy a new one. I advise you'd better often use your Lipo battery or not stored it for too long.
     

Share This Page