110 won't bind after rx antenna replacement

Discussion in 'Walkera Rodeo 110' started by Okletmegodown, Sep 9, 2017.

  1. Okletmegodown
    Offline

    Okletmegodown Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Squamish, BC, Canada
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Morning, well I replaced the rx antenna, it was easier then I thought. But now it won't bind to the devo 7. I only get 2 beeps on start up. It doesn't do the full boot up, thoughts?

     
  2. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,367
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +455 / 14
    How did you replace the RX antenna? With what, and did you tune the actual antenna end?
     
  3. Okletmegodown
    Offline

    Okletmegodown Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Squamish, BC, Canada
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Hey Bryan,
    Thanks for helping.
    I replaced the antenna from an old 110 power board. Didn't cut or do anything to the end as I know it is a very exact measurement. Just solder off solder on.
     
  4. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,367
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +455 / 14
    The antenna has 2 connections a ground Shield and a Centre.

    Did you solder both connections?

    Is it possible they have been shorted?
     
  5. Okletmegodown
    Offline

    Okletmegodown Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Squamish, BC, Canada
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    It did solder both ends. I'm thinking it's a short, what's your suggestion? Unsolder and then try again? Is it possible to harm the board by to much soldering and unsolderoing?
     
  6. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,367
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +455 / 14
    Can you take a close up picture of the solder joint. Also what Soldering iron did you use. If you took too long with a hot iron you will kill the local electronics. You have at max about 15 Seconds to solder and remove heat.
     
  7. Okletmegodown
    Offline

    Okletmegodown Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Squamish, BC, Canada
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Hey Bryan,
    I use asbk939d+ soldering station. I have the temperature at 349.
    Here's the picture
     

    Attached Files:

  8. bjr981s
    Offline

    bjr981s Moderator Staff Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,367
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +455 / 14
    Looks like there is a small solder trail on the bottom right pad. But it doesn't look like it goes anywhere.

    Did you bind OK before you replaced the antenna?

    How many seconds did you take to solder the wires?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

walkera replacement antenna